Home >> Opportunities >> Scholarship

link to rss feed RSS feed

IPHC Merit Scholarship Print E-mail

International Pacific Halibut Commission
Solicits Applications for IPHC Merit Scholarship

The International Pacific Halibut Commission funds several Merit Scholarships to support university, technical college, and other post-secondary education. The scholarship fund has been established to assist the further education of Canadian and U.S. students connected to the halibut fishery and its industry. Generally, a single new scholarship valued at $2,000 (US) per year is awarded. The scholarships are renewable annually for the normal four-year period of undergraduate education, subject to maintenance of satisfactory academic performance. A committee of industry and Commission representatives reviews applications and determines recipients based on academic qualifications, career goals, and relationship to the halibut industry.

The scholarships for 2015 will be available for educational entrance or continuation in fall 2015. Additional questions can be directed to either Tamara Briggie (206) 634-1838 (ext. 7660) or Bruce Leaman (ext. 7672).

Applications are available through the Commission offices or on the Commission’s website at: http://www.iphc.int/opportunities/scholarship.html. Applications must be post-marked by June 30, 2015 and mailed to:

Attention: Tamara Briggie
International Pacific Halibut Commission
2320 West Commodore Way, Suite 300
Seattle WA 98199-1287

Phone (206) 634-1838
FAX (206) 632-2983


Past and Current Recipients:
RecipientHome townInitial Year
Ms. Elise Pletnikoff Kodiak, AK 2002
Mr. Lawren Best Sooke, B.C. 2003
Mr. Casey Knight Petersburg, AK 2004
Mr. Tyler Jones Mount Vernon, WA 2005
Mr. Dylan Hardie Courtenay, B.C. 2006
Mr. Myron Melovidov Jr. St. Paul, AK 2007
Mr. Joel Thomas Port Townsend, WA 2008
Mr. Parker MacClelland Port Townsend, WA 2009
Mr. Ryder Whitmire Homer, AK 2009
Ms. Candace Schaack Cold Bay, AK 2010
Mr. John Scott Girdwood, AK 2011
Mr. Jamie Nightingale Delta, B.C. 2012
Mr. Spencer Lunda Juneau, AK 2013
Ms. Katie Koolman Sooke, B.C. 2014


Last Updated on Monday, 23 February 2015 15:57